My 40th: Day 2 of 365

spaday

As I sat in the spa yesterday, I lingered in my memories of days when taking care of my skin was part of my routine not a special occasion.  Understand that we didn’t always have the money for a spa day.  We still are not at a place where I could splurge on this type of a day on a regular basis.  But, somewhere in the hustle and bustle of life I dropped the ball.

Anyone with kids can understand that some days we are just grateful to take a shower, uninterrupted.  Even the idea of having an at home spa day seems out of reach when you have realized that you actually don’t recall when was the last time you shaved your legs.  I’ve noticed that in these seasons there are the women who have the time, but not the money.  Or, they have the money but not the time.  But none the less self care becomes  secondary (or tertiary) to everything else you “need to do”.

I made a decision yesterday that for my 40th year, I was going to schedule a mani-pedi session once a month.  A little something to bring me joy.  Today, I realized that was just not going to be enough.  I am going to carve out some at home spa time at least once a week.  This is going on my calendar.  This is going to be put into the meal planning.  One day, per week, where I am going to indulge myself in rest, I’m going to de-stress, I am going to find peace.

I may even invite some ladies to join me.

Having Hashimotos means that my skin is DRY.  I do mean DRY.  Not everyone gets this as a symptom, but I do.  The woman who did my pedicure yesterday could hardly believe that just a few weeks ago, I actually had a foot peel to remove dead skin or that I had used an exfoliant and pumice just the night before. My hands were beat up and rough, because of dry skin and brittle nails (my thyroid strikes again).

As I soaked in the mineraled waters, I was marveling at how soft my skin felt.  How much I wanted to bottle it up and bring it home.  If I could, I’d set up an above ground pool on the patio and make a mineral spring for myself.  I’m not sure these pools pumps are equipped to deal with this kind of water.  None the less, I wanted to bring it home and soak every day.

As my first decree to myself, meandering into forty, I’ve decided that this is going to be an area I am going to restore.  I’m going to take care of the skin that I am in.  I’m going to make the effort.

In a few weeks, once I have worked out the plan, I’ll post it here.  We can all have a great spa at home experience.

Leave a Reply

