Enjoying the Break

I’ve been slowly working my way through the book Enjoy and I’ve really been thinking about how much more I could be enjoying the life that the Lord has gifted me.  Enjoying serving more directly.  Enjoying the friendships He has brought into my life, which have been answers to specific prayers and longings of my heart.  Enjoying the opportunities to get out of my nest and fellowship in new places with new faces.

So, I put the book down for a few days and did just that.

I enjoyed Thanksgiving with my family and our new extended family members, as our family grows.  I stole away from the food and conversations and spent a precious 30 minutes or more with my new grand niece.  I couldn’t be more in love with her.

Then, I actually went Black Friday shopping.  I’ve never done that in my entire life.  But, later in the afternoon my husband and kids convinced me to go.  We had a great time and fortunately had missed a lot of the chaos.

I decided that I didn’t want to schedule much in those days before the kids went back to school.  Instead, I wanted to enjoy my time with each of them.  Playing board games and watching Christmas movies.

I called up a friend who I knew would be busy in December and made sure to schedule in some face time once the kids were back at school.  It was great to do something last minute, even it if meant it had to be short.  I enjoy spending time with her because she is safe, I don’t have to tread lightly or watch how I word things. She chooses to see the best in me and gives me the benefit of the doubt.

Another friend invited me to her church Women’s Event and I wasn’t certain I could go.  But, I made it happen.  What a blessing it was too!  From the evening’s events to the face I ran into my nephew’s wife there.  That was a surprise!  We had the chance to have a little fun together and talk before the night ended.  Had I not gone, I would have missed that beautiful memory.

I attended that Sunday’s service at a different time, and ran into faces I hadn’t seen in a while.  It was great to catch up and ended up making plans to get together more frequently.  Multiple services can do that, you know… separate you and you don’t even realize it happened.

That evening, I realized I had a burden on my heart.  I reached out to another friend and we scheduled a very last minute meet up at her house.  I am so grateful that she was able to squeeze me in, listen to me, counsel me, and pray with me.

There are times we can focus on what we wish we had, and not see the blessings that the Lord has put right in front of us.  I’m so glad that the Lord is opening up my eyes to enjoy these relationships and opportunities in a new way.

Sometimes, we need to put down the book and actually DO IT.

I’m not only choosing to enjoy…

I am choosing JOY.

I am choosing to REJOICE.

And I am going to love and find contentment in all that He has given me, my cup runneth over, I want for nothing but more of HIM.

Leave a Reply

