The Theatre Runs Deep- #Write31Days

holyshake

Be still my heart.

I do love to review books, and nine of ten times I pick Christian non-fiction, bible studies, et’al.  When I saw this book on the list of prospective titles… I squealed a bit.

While I did just complete my Bachelors in Divinity, my original degree many years ago was in Theatre Arts.  I’m a theatre nerd, geek… whatever you call us in your neck of the woods.  I once went to London for two weeks.  I saw 21 productions.  One afternoon I bought a last minute ticket to “The Complete Works of William Shakespeare Abridged.”  When the show was over, they mentioned another production… “The Complete History of the United States”.    As I walked out of the theatre, got back in cue, and went right back in to catch it.

I’ve been cast in more Shakespeare (and parody) shows than I can count.

So… yes, this book had my name written all over it.   Turns out it isn’t a typical book, but rather a collection of quotes from Shakespeare and the scripture that it references.  Which is great, because it makes a great coffee table/conversation book.  Also, it would be a great gift to someone heading off to college or who just graduated with a theatre degree (be kind, and slip a $50 bill in there too).

It’s a fun book, and I was surprised how much scriptural references I have missed over the years.

Leave a Reply

