Heart Art – #Write31Days

smallart

I love art.  My walls are filled with it.  Most of the pieces were made by family members.  Over the years I have learned to appreciate art in many different sizes.  One of the largest pieces in my house measure nearly 4 feet in height.   The smallest, just six inches square.

One of my prized collections is a grouping of paintings that I worked on with my kids.  We spent all spring break working on twelve paintings.  They are not very big pieces on their own, but take up space when they are together.  It’s not the art pieces themselves that are all that valuable to me, but the time I spent with my kids working on it.

I taught them about mixing colors, techniques, how to fix mistakes, etc.  I proudly displayed them in our living room.  No one painting is “extraordinary” all on it’s own, yet collectively they work together for something bigger.  Just like our family members.  We are each a little different, sometimes we are not all that spectacular on our own, but as a family we are so much more.

Leave a Reply

