Try Something New – #Write31Days

quillingseahorse

Do you know what I love about arts and crafts?  EVERYTHING!

  • There always seems to be something new to learn, whether a new technique or a totally new art form.
  • The internet has brought us teachers into our living rooms so that we can learn at the click of a button.
  • Learning a new art form always has an acceptable margin of error, and we expect it to take time to master.

Recently, I was introduced to a local store that was filled with all sorts of goodies.  Mass produced retails to custom pieces of art.  I was thrilled to find out in the back of the store was a studio where classes were held.  There was a beautiful display board up of a papercraft called “quilling” that caught my attention.

I was actually familiar with this folk art, but had never attempted it before.  At first I wasn’t sure about signing up, since the class was $40.   Let me clarify that my concern wasn’t that it was too much, but paying $40 for the class plus having to buy supplies on top of that wasn’t quite in my budget.  It just so happened that the store owner caught me admiring the sample piece and engaged me in conversation.  Turned out the $40 not only included the supplies for the class, but tools you could take home.  It even included enough materials to continue making projects at home on your own.

SOLD!  I signed up, spent a few hours in the quilling class, and I was HOOKED.

I love, love, love this craft!  It is good to try new things, you never know what new interests will grab your heart.  seashell

Leave a Reply

