The ABC’s of Christianity

FaithWords/Hatchette Book Group sent ABC’s of Christianity for the purpose of my honest review.  While this book was gifted to me for this purpose, the review is my honest opinion of the book’s content and not influenced by the author or publisher in anyway.

abcsxtian

I’m going to let you in on a little secret.  I love to read, but I also don’t like to waste my time reading.  What that means is that when a book takes too long to get to the point, I check out.  I don’t always need 100 illustrations to get a point, nor do I need to know every detail of your backstory in discovering a biblical truth, new perspective, etc.  I do feel that some authors take way too long to get to the point vs. spending enough time expounding on that point regarding what it means to the reader.

THIS IS NOT THAT TYPE OF BOOK.  Praise God, for that too.

ABCs of Christianity  by Terdema Ussery is probably going to become one of my favorite quick reference books for my own personal research purposes, and for sharing the scriptures with new believers.    It covers the overarching BIG story of the scripture in a way that is concise, bullet pointed, and to the point.  Each section has a brief overview, supporting bullet points, and scripture references.  The author helps us to take the information from then and apply it to the now in which we are living.

abcsxtian1

The book would be a great introduction to the scriptures for a new believer, which would walk them through the over all points of the scriptures and faith.  It can serve as a bridge between the moment one accepts Christ and the moment where they begin their own independent scripture study.  It’s a mixture of doctrine and apologetics, presented in a “these are the facts” way, with simple interpretation and application to today.  Then as a person moves into individual scripture study it becomes the launching point of their interpretation because they have a base knowledge to start with.

For the seasoned believer this can become a quick reference guide in your own study and research, as well as a tool to share with those whom you are discipling or evangelizing to.  This is a book I feel like I could hand over to someone without any biblical knowledge or history, and they could read through it and have a basic understanding of what Christianity is.

Currently the book is available in Kindle and Hardcover… I look forward to seeing paperback versions and hopefully other language translations.  It could be a great mission tool as well.

Leave a Reply

