#Write31Days – Post 28 – If You Were God

MBA

I was listening to the radio this morning, when the show’s host posed the question:

If you were God, given all of his knowledge and power, what would be the first thing you would do?

Scoffed at the question, too easy.

But it wasn’t easy at all.

My first thought was to end abortions, but then I thought about the homeless.

So then I thought about ridding the world of homelessness, but then I remembered there are starving children with a roof over their heads.

I kept going down the trail… and I thought about criminals, and generally mean people.  I thought about poverty and in equality.  I thought about our country and developing nations.

Ultimately the trail brought me to the the only conclusion, the one thing that would be at the root of solving all these individual problems:  You have to change PEOPLE.  Changing their hearts so that they are more compassionate, honest, trustworthy, and good.  If you can change people, you can end abortion, murder, abuse, homelessness, starvation, etc.

When I picked up my daughter and her boyfriend from school, I posed the question to them.   Both smiled at the simpleness of the question, yet both struggled to give an answer.

The truth is even if God gave me all of his powers to do ONE thing… would only put a bandaid on a larger problem.  It would be also be moot, because God already did the ONE THING needed to save the world.

He sent His son, an innocent life, to die a sinners death, atoning for the sin of those He loves and calls His own.  Those who encountered Jesus before his death, became changed people…. and that hasn’t stopped and never will.

To change people, to change the world, we need to introduce them to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

