On the Subject of Planned Parenthood

fence

I want to start off  by pointing out that I know a lot about Planned Parenthood.

I know about their questionable history.

I also know of women who benefited greatly from their services.

I know of the broken teens and women who walk in their doors, searching for an answer.

I know of those who stand outside with picket signs, trying to save lives.

I am also a bit of a skeptic.

When the first video on Planned Parenthood came out this past week, addressing the sale of fetal body parts and tissues, I reserved judgement for a bit of time.  I knew what I was seeing, and everything in me was leaning toward the legitimacy of the video.  But, knowing how things have ended up in the past, I was reserved about jumping on the bandwagon.  Propaganda presents itself on every side of every argument.  Perhaps this is just one person, one clinic, that is to blame.  I do not support abortion in any way shape or form, but I have never been quick to publicizing something without being certain of it’s accuracy.

Then Planned Parenthood responded, with their own video.  It was in watching their response, that I begin to find the original videos more credible  As an actress, I was taught a lot of things.  I was taught how speech patterns, volume, and tone can betray you.  As I listened to the woman, I could see she was deflecting attention from what they were being accused of.  She was repeating herself, she was focusing on what someone else was doing to deflect from any accountability to their own actions.

Shortly after, the second video on Planned Parenthood’s sale of fetal body parts and tissues was released.  This time it was much clearer, particularly the callousness of the negotiation over the fees.

I watched an interview with the spokesperson for Planned Parenthood, and it was a repeat of their first response.  Repeated phrases.  Deflecting blame.

Today, the third video came out. This time it was a lot more detailed on the process.  I’m not sharing the link because, frankly, you just can’t unsee some things.  It won’t be hard to find if you feel inclined to google search for it.

At this point, we as a people of conscious… whether you are pro-life or pro-choice… need to take a stand.

Something is clearly amiss.  Planned Parenthood is not being completely honest or transparent.  Investigation must happen in order for the truth to be revealed.

This is a time we should be united as a people, and question the ethics of the people who claim to help.

Leave a Reply

