Side Tracked ….. by Books!

I’m not going to lie to anyone any more.  I am a book addict.  I love books.  Like real books, no kindle for me.   I love the feel and smell of paper, the gratification of getting caught up emotionally in the story line and whipping through the pages.  There is gratification in the sound.  I like being able to slam the book down when I can’t believe what just happened, or when a concept hits my like a ton of bricks.

I’m not a book snob, stuck in anyone particular genre.  I love fiction and fantasty… just as much as I love history and biographies.  I love textbooks and cookbooks…. just as much as I love a how to guide or humorous fluff.

summerreading

summerreading2    summerreading3

There are actually about four distinct piles of books in my house for my “summer reading”.

I accept I have a problem, and I’m not trying to change it.  But I do have a confession to make……

Having a book addiction can get really pricey, especially when you don’t want kindle or nook versions that go on sale sometimes for $1….

…. and so, I joined up with a few places where I could pick books and get them for free… I just had to write a review of it on my website.

I sold out my blog for book reviews.

Forgive me.

I had planned for this blog to be a lot more than just reviews on books I like and didn’t like.  But I got carried away by it, the appeal of books was more than this girl could handle.

Forgive me, even more.

And while I know that book people draw in other book people, and you maybe didn’t care about it… because I was recommending books to feed your habit too….  I lost vision and focus of what I really wanted to accomplish here.

Forgive me, oh… please forgive me.

So, I made a decision today…. and that is to get back on track with my real purposes for this blog.  It headed in a direction I didn’t intend.  I was looking at my content list, and I was shocked by how derailed I allowed myself to get.

We will usher in a time where there is more content and less reviews.   I’m not giving up entirely on sharing reviews, but I am going to me much more selective.

Instead, between my focused content posts… you’ll find me, huddled in the corner of my couch… sniffing the smell of new books by myself.  Don’t judge me.

Leave a Reply

