“Savor” the moments, right where you are.

It’s been a while since I had my hands on a good devotion book.  I’ve been spending more time digging into the word directly, school work with Christian Leaders Institute, and writing a curriculum on women’s ministry.  Most of the devotion books I have on my bookshelf require a little more effort than what limited time I have for supplemental reading.

Family Christian gave me the opportunity take review Shauna Niequist’s devotion book, Savor.  When I first opened the pages, I  was happy to see that these were devotions that were short and really got right into the heart of the message.  What I didn’t realize was how poignant they were going to be as I went through them.

savor3

Like two days ago, as I was sitting on bench waiting.  My sixteen year old was taking her driver’s test, life was changing.  Shaunti’s words about embracing the here and the now, were so needed.  My youngest reached over and pressed down the right side of the book so I could snap a picture.  So aware of what I was doing, but suddenly part of it.  I closed the book and grabbed that little hand, holding on for a bit longer.

 handsavor  savor2

Today, I read about being present with God in the demonstration of his power through his Word.  I find such joy in reading and studying scripture and bible history.  I find joy in teaching it to others, which is exactly what God has asked of us to do in the Great Commission.  It was an affirmation to the things God has been maneuvering in my life for quite some time, as I start seeing them fall into place today.

And, if a devotion book isn’t good enough on it’s own… I let you in on a little secret.   Scattered amongst the pages are savory recipes that fit the seasons; from summer salads to sweet fondues.    Each devotion page has a few questions on the bottom that serves as reminders of who we are, what God created us to be, and those who God has put into your life to help you get along in your journey.

This is a great devotion book, for you own use… but is also beautiful and would make a lovely gift for a friend or someone in your church body who is in need of a little pick me up.

The book Savor was provided to me by Family Christian for the purpose of reviewing on this blog.  The opinions, however, are entirely my own and without bias.

2 thoughts on ““Savor” the moments, right where you are.

  1. This sounds like such a neat book! And I have to say, I teared up at the part about your oldest and youngest. My oldest will be 15 soon and my youngest is just 2. I look at my oldest and remember the day he was born. I’m reminded to enjoy every moment with my kids because it truly does fly by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

