16 YEARS …

MBA

I spent 16 years in a row, going to school.  Kindergarten through some  College.  Then I took a break.

16 years went by…. SO SLOWLY.  I needed a break from school.

 

I remember my 16th wedding anniversary, and asking myself… “Wow, has it really been 16 years?”.

16 years went by…. I DIDN’T EVEN NOTICE.   Because my marriage had become natural, like breathing.

 

Today, is my eldest daughters 16th Birthday.  I’m a hot mess.

16 years went by…. SO FAST.   I can’t slow them down.  I can’t help but wonder if she’s really prepared.

 

In the scope of time, based on the circumstances we face…. 365 days seems to adjust it’s speed.   Time isn’t constant, in the heart.

On my daughter’s 16th birthday, I would encourage any parent… who is like me to sit down and really think about what it is you want your children to know by the time they turn 18.  That age when they go off to college, head off to boot camp, venture out backpacking across Europe, or even say “I DO”….

Then make a plan to teach them.  And, if they are old enough, ask them to contribute to the list.  Is there anything they want to know/learn, that you haven’t taught them.  You may be surprised.

And if you haven’t yet, intentionally begin to surround your kids with godly women or men… ones who are a few years ahead of the game, and a couple even further…. they will need these people to help stay the course.

One thought on “16 YEARS …

Leave a Reply

