MY GREATEST LESSON CAME IN AN ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF PAIN

fence

I remember as a child, calling out to my mom, my legs hurt.  They hurt so incredibly bad, I didn’t think I could walk.  My mom said “they are growing pains”, gave me something for the pain and sent me on my way.  This was a part of life.  It was not going to hold me back.  I would experience a lot of physical pain, as I grew into an adult.

I recall one night, heart broken over that first love.  My heart was in pieces, it never felt like it would go back together again.  My mom assured me it would, maybe a bit differently, but that pain would go away.  These were also growing pains, ones that would shape my heart and my mind for the responsibilities to come.

One thing I always appreciated about my mom was that she never down played the pain.  It was ok to hurt, to acknowledge the pain, to even take a few minutes to wallow in it, but in the end… you get up.  You move forward.  I watched my mom go through growing pains too, when her life wasn’t exactly what she planned.  She had days of pain, she didn’t hide it.  She did, however, keep moving forward.

I have learned over the years, no matter how much older we get… or wiser… we still face the potential to experience growing pains.  Life will be full of lessons.  Some of us will face hard ones, and often.  Others may have softer lessons to learn, or less frequent.  Until we are on the other side of Heaven, we will face obstacles, difficulties and complications along our way.  All of which will teach us new things about ourselves, others and God.

Some of my greatest lessons, that I benefited the most from, were the ones accompanied by the most pain.  They were the ones that stripped me of everything that made sense, pulled me out from my comfort zone, and pushed me down to my knees.  It was in these moments I had to rely on God completely, because I couldn’t do it on my own … even if I tried.

It is funny, now, to look back on some of those moments in my past.  To see what God brought me through, and brought me to.

Recently, I found myself going through a “rough patch” again.  I recognized what was happening, I was being refined by fire…. but that didn’t diminish the pain.   The comfort I found, was that much like my mother… my Heavenly Father was not going to discount my pain.  Instead, He made a promise… “I am doing a new thing.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

