Anyone Else Ready for Christmas?

It’s an exciting day in the neighborhood when a package like this shows up at my door.  I love Christmas.  I know, some of you are squealing “Can’t we just get through Thanksgiving?????”…. but alas, no.  I can’t wait.  To me Thanksgiving is more a prelude to Christmas.  Thanksgiving starts the motion of family togetherness, holiday mushiness, and the realization that I might as well through my diet out the window for the next four weeks.

In fact, the days leading up to Thanksgiving, to me, are just part of the countdown to Christmas.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I am unthankful, in fact I am very thankful.   I am thankful to celebrate the birth of my savior.  Now, before anyone starts, I know all of the arguments about the likelihood of Jesus not being born on December 25th.   But, since I wasn’t there … nor am I 100% certain that anyone else who has attempted to calculate the actual date is accurate… I am totally OK with celebrating it on this appointed day.

Bring on the Christmas music.  The cooler weather.  Dorky sweaters.  Ornament earrings.  Seat warmers.  Fireplaces.  Hot Cocoa.  Baking days.  Eating nights.  Holiday lights.  Christmas Parties.  Silly exchanges.  Mistletoe kisses.  Mickey’s Christmas Carol.  The Polar Express.  The Night Before Christmas.  Cranberry Tea.

And most importantly, Christmas Carols.  

cd1

This boxed set came from Family Christian Stores and I’m not going to lie… it had me at the title… CLASSIC CHRISTMAS.  The compilation was put together by Maranatha Music, so I was already a fan.

It’s not that I don’t like modernized versions of the classics, or even newly written modern favorites…. but it is becoming harder and harder to hear the classics on the radio.  We just got a new car, and I haven’t even put a single CD in the player yet.  Guess where this 3 disc set is going first thing in the morning.

My kids may…. or may not… be thrilled.  Probably not as thrilled as I am.  But, I am ok with that.

In truth, I couldn’t wait.  So, I popped this bad boy in while I was working on a project, it is the Home for the Holidays CD.  I seriously would have this playing in the background during the family visits on Christmas morning, or playing in the back ground while I work.

cd3

Definitely a fan of this CD.  I loved is soft versions of my favorites like Angels We Have Heard on High, but also the soulful but fun Go Tell It On the Mountain.  I was pleasantly surprised by 2 songs I was not familiar with, Infant Holy, Infant Lowly and Lo! How a Rose E’er Blooming, that I fell in love with instantly.  See!  You can’t possibly know ALL the Christmas music out there!  Which is why we need to celebrating ASAP

One CD, ok one song, was all it took to put me in the mood.  Before I knew it, I had the AC cranked down, a long sleeve shirt on and a cup of coffee was brewing.  I should tell you, it is November… in Florida.  I’m sure if I walked out to get the mail right now, I’d get more than a few strange looks from my neighbors.

I moved onto the Holiday Classics CD…. and I was giddy.  Like seriously, giddy.

cd4

This selection reminded me of the music you hear during a Christmas Program at church or a school.    You could hear the youthful, children’s choir, voices in some songs…. beautiful instrumentals. This CD had variety of styles and sounds that would work great with a children’s program but fun to listen to on it’s own merits.  It’s just a fun CD.

I popped in the third CD when I was getting read to work online, a little study time.   Seasonal Classics is hands down my favorite of the three, because it has my favorite songs on it!   This will probably be the CD I wear out first, in fact… when Christmas is over, this one may stay in the player as a permanent resident.

cd2

It starts of with one of my favorite childhood songs, The Twelves Days of Christmas…. but also includes O Holy Night, What Child Is This, and O Come, O Come Emmanuel….. SWOON!  To be entirely honest, I couldn’t even concentrate on my work.  I was just enjoying the music too much.

CHRISTMAS WHEN WILL YOU BE HERE?

I am ready to hang my stockings.  I am ready to trim the tree.  I am ready to put out the holly.  I want to smell the cookies baking in the oven.  I want to package up my grandmother’s fudge for giving away.  I want to wrap presents and put the under the tree.  I want to sing Christmas carols and wish people a Merry Christmas. 

I AM READY FOR CHRISTMAS!!!!!

…. I am also ready for the kids to be on Christmas break.

Just say’n.

 

 

One thought on “Anyone Else Ready for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

