WHO ARE YOU?

hellomynameis
For in Christ Jesus you are all sons of God, through faith.  For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ.  There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no make and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.  – Galatians 3:26-28

In the last few weeks I have had an opportunity to read a few different books, all from authors I had never heard of before.  Each of the books were published within the last year.  The topics covered everything from diversity within the church to international missions.  Yet, there was an underlying theme in each one, that I could not escape noticing.  Maybe, it was because I was reading the books in succession, and if there were more time between them, I wouldn’t have caught it. Or, perhaps, God is laying something on the hearts of His people.  Each delivering this message in a different way, to a different group of people.

This underlying theme was all about identity.  How do you identify yourself?  Who are you?

If someone were to ask you those questions, how would you answer?

I am a teacher.  I am a woman.  I am a mother.  I am a doctor.  I am a wife.  I am a dreamer.  I am an artist.  I am a writer. I am a leader.  I am Hispanic.  I am a volunteer.  I am a student.  I am an advocate for victims.  I am a speaker.

And while all, some, or just one of these statements may be true about you; that is not all you are.  In fact, there is something that is even more important.  You are a Christian.  You are an image bearer of God.

Too often we can allow ourselves to get so root in our position, platform, or passions, that we allow that to become our identity.  We become known for our words, skills, dedication, gifts, spouse, kids… and not the God who gave those things to us.  We unknowingly begin taking credit for it, and our identity in Christ takes the second or third rung.

In the book UNIFIED, in regard to diversity, the author states that we should be identifying as brothers and sisters in Christ first, before our ethnicity.  This is what unifies the body, despite our difference in skill color, culture or traditions.

In the book MADE FOR MORE, in regards to women, the author states that we should identify with our brothers and sisters in Christ first, before our gender.  I am a Christian woman not a woman who is a Christian.
We are Christians, who are parents.  We are Christians, who are missionaries  We are Christians, who are teachers.  We are Christians, who are Pastors.  We are Christians, who are African American.  We are Christians, who are advocates for victims of domestic violence.

When we begin to acknowledge that first in ourselves, and others, it can change everything about how you think, act, and serve.

Father God, I praise you for the wonderful Creator that you are.  You have made us all so different, yet unified us as members of your family.  I think you for our gifts and the passions that you have laid on our hearts.  May they be used to serve you, and for your glory.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

This Devotion was written by Gena McCown for the TC3 Women’s Ministry Devotion Website.
 
Leave a Reply

